The first step in obtaining your broker's license is to take the NYS Brokers 45 hour Qualifying Course
No BROKER QUALIFYING COURSE is scheduled for 2013.
A licensing candidate may take the course final examination only upon satisfactory completion of the attendance requirements. An exam score of 70% must be achieved in order to successfully complete the course. A make-up exam is available in the event the course exam is not passed. Successful completion of both attendance and exam requirements entitles the licensing candidate to sit for the New York State examination.
Non-members: Course only $300; $386.39 with Total Recall Learning Study Guide.
Registration Information: Download and print the brochure below and mail or fax it to GSAR with payment. If you are unable to download the brochure or have any course related questions, please contact Sue at (315) 457-5979 x 24. If you are a member of GSAR please use your member account to register.
NYS Requirements for Licensing as a Broker are:
be at least 20 years of age
complete the Broker's Qualifying course and pass the course exam
if you took the 45 hour salesperson's course, you are required to take and pass a 30 hour remedial course also.
pass the NYS exam
and have either a minimum of two years experience as a licensed salesperson or three years experience in a related field. (Please check with the NYS Dept. of State as to what constitutes experience and/or a related field at 518-474-4429 or www.dos.state.ny.us )
Who needs a license?According to Article 12-A of the Real Property Law,“anyone who negotiates any form of real estate transaction for another and for compensation of any kind in the State of New York” needs a license.
What is the difference between a Broker and a salesperson? A Broker is the owner or corporate officer of the firm. The Broker sponsors, trains, and supervises all the real estate activities of the agents for which he/she is responsible. A salesperson works for and under the direction of the sponsoring Broker.
What happens if I take the course but am not ready to apply for my license?Your course completion certificates are good for 8 years so if, at the end of the course, you’re not ready to apply for your license, you must hold on to your certificates until you are ready. Remember the State exam results are good for two years.
If I miss a portion of the Qualifying Course what happens?According to the New York Department of State, you must complete 90% of the class time in order to pass the course. In other words, if you miss more than 7.5 hours of the salesperson's class or 4.5 hours of the broker's class, you will automatically fail.